Pages

Did my Love Life Shrink in the Wash? by Kristen Bailey ~ Book Tour & Review

Book Description:


Sure, my bedroom gets lots of action. It’s called snoring.

Will and I didn’t have a clue what we were signing up for. It turns out that there’s loads we weren’t warned about:

1) You’ll spend more time spooning your child’s cuddly donkey than your own boyfriend. 
2) Communication with your other half will be via post-it notes on the fridge, mainly telling him to buy more milk. 
3) If you make the mistake of going to a nightclub you’ll nod off, drool, and be woken up by an angry bouncer. 
4) In the middle of the night you’ll be begging Siri for advice on getting your baby to sleep. (Whale music doesn’t work.) 
5) Sex is something that happened in another dimension.

But even if I feel like I’m waiting for my motherhood powers to come in the post, at least I’ve got Will. Our old life – festivals, sambuca shots, an actual sex life – might be a distant memory, but we can get through anything together, can’t we?

At least that’s what I thought until, one day, Will walked out on us… If I’m on my own (apart from Siri, obviously) can I do this whole parenting thing? Or I am destined to lose my sanity one sleepless night at a time?

A totally hilarious and absolutely relatable tale for anyone who has survived parenthood purely on microwave meals and wished for an IV drip of coffee to get them through! This uplifting page-turner will make your belly ache with laughter. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks, Sophie Ranald and Sophie Kinsella.

Purchase a copy on Amazon.


Author Bio:
Mother-of-four, gin-drinker, binge-watcher, receipt hoarder, enthusiastic but terrible cook. Kristen also writes. She has had short fiction published in several publications including Mslexia & Riptide. Her first two novels, Souper Mum and Second Helpings were published in 2016. In 2019, she was long listed in the Comedy Women in Print Prize and has since joined the Bookouture family. She writes women's fiction and she hopes her novels have fresh and funny things to say about modern life, love and family.

You can find out more about her at her website.

Review:

This is book 3 in the series but the first book I have read by Kristen Bailey. I am hooked! I loved this book. It can easily be used as a stand alone. I am looking forward to reading more in this series. Kristen writes from the heart. The lighthearted warmth of this novel along with humour grabbed me right from the start. Topics of motherhood, relationships, body imagine makes it feel so real and relatable. I have two kids and felt like I went back in time to my first born. I could totally relate with Beth on so many levels. She is a great character and I felt for her all the way through this book. The ups and downs of motherhood, a rocky relationship as Will is just "so stressed & really scared" that his first reaction is to run. All the sisters are so likeable and shows great family dynamics. This series is a lot of fun. I really felt like I was reading a book by Sophie Kinsella. I give this book a 5 stars.  
   

~*Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions and thoughts are my own. *~

You Have a Match by Emma Lord ~ Book Review

Book Description: 


From the beloved author of Tweet Cute comes Emma Lord's You Have a Match, a YA novel of family, friendship, romance and sisterhood…

When Abby signs up for a DNA service, it’s mainly to give her friend and secret love interest, Leo, a nudge. After all, she knows who she is already: Avid photographer. Injury-prone tree climber. Best friend to Leo and Connie…although ever since the B.E.I. (Big Embarrassing Incident) with Leo, things have been awkward on that front.

But she didn’t know she’s a younger sister.

When the DNA service reveals Abby has a secret sister, shimmery-haired Instagram star Savannah Tully, it’s hard to believe they’re from the same planet, never mind the same parents—especially considering Savannah, queen of green smoothies, is only a year and a half older than Abby herself.

The logical course of action? Meet up at summer camp (obviously) and figure out why Abby’s parents gave Savvy up for adoption. But there are complications: Savvy is a rigid rule-follower and total narc. Leo is the camp’s co-chef, putting Abby's growing feelings for him on blast. And her parents have a secret that threatens to unravel everything.

But part of life is showing up, leaning in, and learning to fit all your awkward pieces together. Because sometimes, the hardest things can also be the best ones.

Purchase a copy on Amazon. 

About the Author: 

Emma Lord is the author of TWEET CUTE and upcoming YOU HAVE A MATCH, and a digital media editor living in New York City, where she spends whatever time she isn’t writing either running or belting show tunes in community theater. She graduated from the University of Virginia with a major in psychology and a minor in how to tilt your computer screen so nobody will notice you updating your fan fiction from the back row. She was raised on glitter, grilled cheese, and a whole lot of love. Her sun sign is Hufflepuff, but she is a Gryffindor rising.

Author's Website.

Review: 

I recommend this book for kids 13 + because there is some swearing.

My favourite character in this book is Abby Day because we have the same name and that she is the main character, we get to read what she’s thinking and what's happening on her end of the story.

At first, I wasn’t really into the book because it was a bit boring but when Abby went to the camp and got in trouble for chewing gum by Savvy gave her trouble, after that I started to get more interested. I think the family drama and the parts where Abby and Savvy aren’t happy with each other and all the friend drama with Connie and Leo, are the parts I liked best. Those parts had the most action and I wanted to find out what will happen.

I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars!

Review by Abby

~*Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions and thoughts are my own. *~

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More