Framed and Burning by Lisa Brunette ~ Review

Framed and Burning, Book Two in the Dreamslippers Series
Published by Sky Harbor LLC
November 27, 2015 pub date
Genre: Mystery

Book Synopsis:

The Dreamslippers are a family of private investigators who have the ability to "slip" into your dreams. The first book in the series, Cat in the Flock, was published to critical acclaim and is trending at 4.5 stars on Amazon with 35 reviews. In Framed and Burning, someone sets fire to Mick Travers’s art studio, killing his assistant, and Mick won't give an alibi. His dreamslipping sister--the eccentric Amazing Grace--is convinced he's innocent, but her granddaughter and the police aren't so sure. Was it Mick, or is something darker behind the fire?


"Framed and Burning is the second book in the Dreamslippers series. It’s easy to follow and hard to put down, making readers who may not have read the first book race back to give it a try!"  - InD'tale Magazine

"Lisa Brunette continues to develop vibrant characters in a stunning story that will keep you reading well past your bedtime!" - On My Kindle

Only $2.99 if you order before November 27, 2015 - price goes to $3.99 afterward.

Outside the U.S. - pricing and discount varies - Amazon Australia - Amazon Canada - Amazon UK - Nook UK - Kobo International 

About the Author: 

Lisa Brunette is the author of the Dreamslippers mystery series. Book One, Cat in the Flock, is an indieBRAG honoree title that has been praised by Kirkus Reviews, Midwest Book Review, Readers Lane, and others.

Brunette is a career writer/editor whose work has appeared in major daily newspapers and magazines, including the Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Seattle Woman, and Poets & Writers. She's interviewed a Pulitzer Prize-winning author, a sex expert, homeless women, and the designer of the Batmobile, among others.

She has story design and writing credits in hundreds of bestselling video games, including the Mystery Case Files, Mystery Trackers, and Dark Tales series for Big Fish and AAA games for Nintendo and Microsoft platforms.

She holds a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing from University of Miami, where she was a Michener Fellow. Her short stories and poetry have appeared in Bellingham Review, The Comstock Review, Icarus International, and elsewhere.

She's also received many honors for her writing, including a major grant from the Tacoma Arts Commission, the William Stafford Award, and the Associated Writing Programs Intro Journals Project Award.

She blogs at and has been a guest-blogger for Author magazine and Dr. Chris Michaels's blog.

Brunette is a member of Mystery Writers of America and the Pacific Northwest Writers Association.

Connect: Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn | Pinterest | Google+ | Instagram |


I am always a little leery with reading books in a series out of order. I will do it once in awhile with books I have been told are true stand alone. This is one of those books and it truly was a stand alone. I do think that reading book 1 would help with getting to know the two main characters, Grace and Cat better. Along with learning more about Lee who Cat was involved with in book 1. Still this book didn't have me lost at all.

I am not huge into artwork, like painting and this is the main theme of the book but I did enjoy the mystery behind it. Mick is Grace's brother and great uncle to Cat (who doesn't know him that well, only meeting a few times). Mick has a fire in his art studio losing all his work and his best friend/assistant Donnie. The story starts to unfold as Grace and Cat look for who did it. Mick has a lot of people that have held grudges or didn't like him for his success in the art world.  

Lise Brunette takes us on a wild goose chase to interview people from Mick's past to see who is a suspect. The characters are all well developed along the way, there are a lot of characters in this book. I had a strong feeling with Enrie and wasn't sure I liked him from the beginning but the author has us all over the place wondering could it be him or her, or even someone else. Is it revenge from a past lover or someone that is jealous of how well Mick has done in the art world.

I was totally taken off guard with the end and who actually set the first fire which killed Donnie. I really enjoyed learning about the dreamslipping that Grace, Cat and Mick all can do. It actually can cause a lot of problems if they are not careful with it.

I believe this is going to be a great series and I can't wait to go back to book 1 and learn more about Cat and Grace's dreamslipping.

I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars.

~*Disclaimer: This post was written by Genuine Jenn. I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are honest and my own.*~


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More